A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches Al

The report issued by the study on the therapeutic effect of salicylates is silent about crucial details that should serve as basis for the acceptance of the prediction made about its therapeutic effect on headache and thus its tendency to reduce the headache experience by the people of Mentia. Therefore, three questions should be answered to help us decide whether the prediction is logically sound.

The first question that needs to be answered to help us accept the prediction is; Are all salicylates the same and do they perform the same function? According to the information contained in the study report, salicylates are used by food-processing companies as preservatives and are also planning to use them as flavor additives. It might be that salicylates fall in different groups and thus perform different functions. Some might function as preservatives alone, others as flavor additives alone and might not in any way have any health impact such as headache being considered. Thus, this question needs to be answered to help us know if all salicylates added to food substances will significantly contribute to the reduction of headaches in Mentia.

Another important question that needs to be answered to accurately evaluate this prediction is; Will the food items containing salicylates be widely available? If the food containing these potential therapeutic substance is expensive or does not circulate uniformly among the people of Mentia then this claim will be unwarranted. If the products are expensive, it means it will only be available to a certain group of people, that is, the rich who can afford it. Then, if found to reduce headaches, this group of people alone benefits from this. In this case, the argument will be found to be representative. For the prediction to be true of the whole population of Mentia, then we must know how available the food products will be.

Lastly, what dosage is required for a therapeutic effect? To evaluate this prediction, information about the dose required for effectiveness needs to be known. If this information is not provided then, it might turn out that the people of Mentia use below or above the required dosage and thus result in ineffectiveness or adverse effects respectively.

To sum up, the prediction about the therapeutic effect of salicylates is not completely convincing if the above mentioned questions are not answered. Ultimately, the argument would have been strengthened if information about the function of the different types of salicylates are mentioned, if the food items containing the salicylates will be available to all and the dosage required for a therapeutic effect.