The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent During the same year Omni showed a significant

The memorandum from the president of Humana University stated that the school will immediately create and promote online degree programs in order to increase enrollment in the school and solve its budget problems. To support the argument, the president assumes that mimicking Omni university whose online degree programs have increased by 50% and has had a significant decrease in expenditures will bring about the desired results. The argument is not persuasive and thus needs to answer three questions to help determine if the prediction is reasonable.

The first question to be answered is, what is people's impression about Humana University? The answer to this question will help us determine if the president's prediction will work. Perhaps, students and parents are not interested in the programs offered by Humana University, or their facilities are not attractive enough to people, or the administration of the University is poor. The answer to this question will help us determine if people will enroll in the Humana online degrees. Otherwise, the cost invested into setting up the programs will be a waste.

Secondly, does Human University have enough funds to set up the online degrees? If Human University does not have enough to fund this project, it is unlikely that they will be able to succeed in doing this. Perhaps, Omni University has been using the funds meant for dormitory and classroom space to ensure smooth running of the online degree programs. Thus, if Humana University do not have enough to set up and keep running the online programs, they might not be able to solve their budget problems as this will only lead to an increase in their expenditure.

Lastly, for how many years has the school existed? If Humana University has just been established five years ago and its growth is being compared to Omni University which had probably been in existence for over 20 years, then the prediction is logically unsound as it might not give the expected return. Perhaps, Omni University has had its share of what Humana University is experiencing presently but have only overcome and is getting results due to its years of experience.

The evidence in support of the conclusion does little to prove the conclusion since it does not address the questions raised. To help strengthen the argument presented by the president of Human University, the questions earlier raised needs to be answered to help us determine if people will enroll in their online degree programs, if they have enough fund to set up and keep running the program and ultimately if taking this step will solve their budget problem and contribute to the school growth.