Several recent surveys indicate that homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy andmanufacturers are now marketing many home appliances such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade

The argument that the total demand for electricity will remain the same or even decrease because of the manufacture of home appliances which consume less electricity, is not logically convincing because it made three assumptions which might not hold true.

The first assumption is that all household will be able to purchase the energy efficient appliances. It is important to state that eagerness to conserve energy does not equate financial capacity to purchase the energy efficient appliances. This assumption might not hold true if an insignificant number of households are able to acquire the new appliances. Due to the cost associated, only 5 out of a 100 households might have access to these appliances while others do not. In this case, the argument assumes that the sample considered is representative of the whole population considered thus flaws the argument.

The argument also assumes that the population of people in the area will remain the same. What about cases whereby more people migrate to the area? This vividly implies, more energy being consumed, thus increasing the demand of energy in the area and might result in construction of new generating plants.

Furthermore, the argument assumes that the products being marketed by the manufacturers are truly energy efficient. Perhaps, this might just be an idea brought up to get their products sold. In this case, if the products are found to consume more energy, the total demand for electricity will not only increase, more generating plants will need to be constructed.

In conclusion, if the assumptions earlier mentioned prove unwarranted, the argument is not logically sound and is therefore flawed. Thus, to strengthen the argument, the author needs to confirm that a larger part of the population, if not all, can afford to get the appliances, that the population considered will remain the same or reduce and that the claim by the manufacturers of such energy efficient products are true.