"Several recent surveys indicate that homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy and

manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners,

that are almost twice as energy-efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better

home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home

heating. Therefore, we anticipate that the total demand for electricity in our area will not

increase, and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation

for the past 20 years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants should

not be necessary."

In this memorandum, the author advocates that it is unnecessary for them to build new generating plants. This argument, at first glimpse, seemingly makes sense a lot. But it conveals some critical flaws which will undermine it.

First of all, this article points out that homeowners are looking forward to conserving more energy. But it doesn't mention whether the electricity price is increased. If someone's salary has no change but has to pay more for the electricity, saving energy is the only thing he can do. So the author should clarify this point.

Moreover, this memorandum argues that many family tends to purchase energy-efficient home appliances. But he never mention some other changes. Maybe nowadays people earn more money than in the past, so we are likely to buy a bigger house and install more air conditioners in it. If so, the volume of electricity we use must enhance. And we all know that we have more electronic devices like Playstation and Xbox, but in the past we didn't use them. They may consume more energy as well.

In addition, the article mentions that some new material for house insulation and revolutionary solar heating will also save much electricity. Nevertheless, solar energy is a kind of unstable and intermittent. No one can assure that solar energy panel will supply enough energy for heating everyday.

To sum up, this argument requires further development. The author need to provide more confident reasons for setting no more plants. There are 3 points he have to cover. Whether people tend to save energy indeed, or due to some other constraints. Whether people buy more home appliances than the past. Whether a stable energy will help people save energy. In order to strengthen this argument, the author have to focus on them.