A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

In this article, the author claims that if a company is looking forward to prospering, its leader should only recruit employees who have 6 hours or less of sleep per night, due to a survey, which came to the aforementioned conclusion, on the sleep hours of 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives. Though this argument seems reasonable, with the evidence of such a seemingly scientific study, however, it suffers from some critical flaws, which would undermine this argument a lot.

First of all, the sample of this survey is insufficient. Since the study is sought to arrive at a general conclusion about the link between sleep hours and success, that only 300 people are examined is really inappropriate. It would consider some coincidences as a prevailing circumstance. Maybe all of them live in a busy city, for example, New York, whereas if you ask people who live in Dallas, perhaps the condition is totally different.

Moreover, that all of the targets are executives is a huge drawback of this study. We know that to run a successful company is a tough experience. Its leader have to deal with plenty of stuff, such as attending a conference or doing some negotiations with other firms. Thus, they may indeed have less sleep than others. Nevertheless, whether this survey result can be applied generally is uncertain.

In addition, we can see that the subject of this survey is limited. All of the interviewed people are from a single industry advertising. Maybe it is true that people who work in this field are really painstaking. They sedulously work overtime in order to compete with other companies and achieve the success. But we cannot draw the conclusion that people in all fields need to follow their pace.

To sum up, this argument requires further development. The author need to ameliorate the survey and provide a more confident result. There are 3 points he is supposed to cover: (1) he need to survey on more people, but not to survey only about 300 persons, (2) the survey should not be restricted in the range of executives, and some ordinary employees should be considered as well, (3) the survey should enlarge the field of target, and not just in advertising. So as to strengthen the argument, the author have to focus on these points and offer a better survey and finally give us a compelling argument.