Milk and dairy products are rich in vitaminD and calcium, substances

essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore believe that a diet rich in dairy

products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease in which the bones weaken significantly with age and

that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors. But a long-term study of a large number of

people has found that those who have consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the

study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study(2,3,4). Since bone

fractures are a symptom of osteoporosis(1), this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products

may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

In this argument, the author claims that milk and dairy products will enhance the risk of osteoporosis. He draws such a conclusion totally due to a study shows that people who consume dairy products have a higher rate of bone fractures. From my perspective, though this argument, at first glimpse, is seemingly reasonable. Nevertheless, there are some crucial flaws which may undermine this argument a lot.

First of all, this argument points out that dairy products will lead to osteoporosis because bone fractures are a symptom of osteoporosis. However, there are some other reasons which will cause bone fractures as well. For example, some people's bones are more fragile than others, so they are more likely to have such a symptom. The author just look osteoporosis as the only reason which cause bone fractures, and it cannot convince us.

Moreover, the argument shows us a study about the relationship between dairy products and osteoporosis, but it is not convincing. Since we do not have specific figures about these samples, we cannot know whether these are some mistakes on this study. In order to give us a receivable result, the author should clarify it.

In addition, though the study is correct, the author cannot draw such a conclusion as well. Maybe some patients who have this disease adopt the advice from their doctors that dairy products will have some benefit effects on their bodies, and then they consume more dairy products to cure their disease. If so, the study will have the same result, but it totally disprove the conclusion of the author.

To sum up, if the author still wants to strengthen his argument, he has to response these three points aforementioned. If he can provide more details about the dairy products and osteoporosis, his argument will be more compelling.