Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium, substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore believe that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease in which the bones weaken significantly with age and that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors. But a long-term study of a large number of people has found that those who have consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are a symptom of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

In this argument, the author draws the conclusion that a diet rich in dairy products may increase the risk of osteoporosis. In supporting his conclusion, the author presents a study, which shows that those who consume dairy products have a higher rate of bone fractures than others. While it might seem convincible at first glance, the argument is based on a series of unwarranted assumptions and thus fails to be wholly persuasive as it stands.

A paramount problem involved in this argument is that the author fails to consider other possible causes of bone fractures. Although bone fractures are a symptom of osteoporosis, it may also result from many alternative causes, such as falls or car accidents. In order to substantiate his argument, the author needs to provide evidence to prove that the participants in the study had bone fractures due to osteoporosis instead of other means.

On the other hand, the characteristics of the study’s population are questionable. We do not know their age, gender, and if they have medical problems. It is possible that these people consume more dairy products because they are at risk of developing osteoporosis in the first place. For example, an 80-year-old female unquestionably has a higher risk of osteoporosis compared to a 20-year-old male, no matter what kind of diet she is on. Without providing the evidence that this study involves randomized controlled trials that rule out other possibilities, the author’s assumption cannot be bolstered.

Finally, even if the foregoing assumptions are reasonable, the author’s conclusion is based on the assumption that the participants of the study were on a dairy-rich diet for a long time. This is a very vague statement and can possibly result in many interpretations. For example, the participants reported that they “have consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years”, yet we do not know the quantity, form, and the type of products they consumed. In fact, it could turn out to be the case that some participants were not having enough dairy products for it to produce conducive effects, or the way they consume them does not get easily absorbed by the body (ex. having them with iron pills).

To sum up, there are, as I have presented, many obvious flaws that need to be addressed before the proposal can be seriously scrutinized. To strengthen the argument the author must prove that the study is not interfered by other factors and thus its conclusion is valid. In order to do that, the sample’s participants, characteristics, method of data collection and analysis all need to be carefully examined.