Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

It is a controversial statement that governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. I believe the answer varies according to each nation’s status, and that the government should cautiously make decisions after assessing the pros and cons of each of their decisions. I would like to use the following paragraphs to elucidate my viewpoints.

First of all, solving the immediate problems is undoubtedly a top priority especially for the countries that are in crisis, such as wars, starvation, and deadly infectious diseases. The reasons being that these problems are not only urgent, but also relating to the fundamental basis of a country’s well-being. If not solved properly and urgently, the whole country can basically fall apart. Take President Lincoln for example, who took place while the United States was in civil war. He took his priority in preserving the Union, so much so he was even willing to put emancipation to a second place. Without his rightful decision, the Union would split and there would be no place or opportunity for emancipation. A more recent example will be the countries in West Africa, who have been fighting for starvation, HIV-aids, and Ebola for the past few years, any of the listed three problems has taken thousands of lives. Just image being there, where you cannot even feed yourself and is afraid that you could contact a deadly disease at any time, what is left in your mind would not be the future, but to make through the current situation.

On the other hand, I agree that the countries that are relatively peaceful and stable need to focus more on anticipated problems. A government needs to have a clear vision and an organized plan for the country to stay prosperous in a long-run. Take Japan for example, by understanding clearly that the country is prone to natural disasters due to its geographical location, the country had implemented clear measures to respond to such conditions. Therefore, when the 8.9 grade earthquake happened in 2011, the public responded fast and the local hospitals were able to transform to a triage centers within 2 hours, which helped to save numerous lives. Another example will be the many countries’ attempts to explore new energy sources in responding to the energy depletion problem in the foreseeable future, such as making use of solar and hydroelectric power. Overall, there left many anticipated problems that can hopefully be avoided only if we take a serious consideration now, such as preserving the energy, environment and species.

To sum up, I believe that government should properly assess the country’s situation and make the rightful decision for its citizens. If a nation has pressing issues yet the government is focusing on some other anticipated problems, the result can be disastrous. Just take a look at North Korea, while the government was busy developing nuclear power for chances of war in the future, numerous innocent citizens were starving to death. Therefore, as a conclusion, I would like to reiterate my points that the government should focus on solving the immediate problems if they have altered the basis of the nation, such as war, disease and starvation; on the other hand, a strong and peaceful nation should try to eradicate future problems in order to maximize social utility.