Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a Utopian world, we could see a cosmos bereft of conflicts or predicaments. Unfortunately, such a Utopia could only exist in our imagination and the real world today is infested with a multitude of problems. Issues ranging from the precariously held peace between country to racial and gender equality poke ceaselessly at our bubble of volatile equilibrium, threatening to penetrate the membrane at any time. Such problems could be categorized into immediate and anticipated problems, the priority of which has been met with a glut of debate where there seems to be no conclusive decision. However, I truly believe that solving potential problems should take higher precedence to imminent ones. I would like to use the following paragraphs to elucidate my viewpoints.

First and foremost, it is easy for proponents of the opposite view to argue that immediate problems have a much narrower response duration. While it is certainly true that such problems would engender harm much earlier than contingent ones, many fail to realize the cause of issues at our fingertips is the insolvency or negligence of anticipated problems from the past. Take the water flooding nuisance in Taiwan as an example. In the 1950s, the people living near Keelung River had noticed a superfluous amount of water that come gushing from the riverbeds every time it rained. Nevertheless, the government did not take action, treating it as an "annoyance" that the citizens should just deal with themselves. It was not until the 1970s when the flooding truly exacerbated and ruined the lives of many that those in charge decided to jump in and attempt to curb the waters. Alas! Had the government put efforts into solving the problem early on, the peaceful village near Keelung River wouldn't have suffered such devastating repercussions.

Equally noteworthy is the hefty alloted time an anticipated problem would give the authorities to predict and conquer. Such amount of time would allow the government to examine past data and trends and compare them to current phenomena in order to pinpoint the best way to combat the issue when a crisis truly arises. A well-known example in history is in ancient China, when the advisor Zhu of a benevolent emperor Liu successfully used his wits and logic to win many battles due to precaution and preparation. Zhu analyzed past wars and proposed many important military strategies even before the next battle's bugle was blown. Of all his distinguished feats, the war against the Tsao was of most significant, as he realized how their enemies always had campfire close to the East before they raged war. Using the given amount of time before a potential threat of the battle, Zhu successfully precluded the war altogether with logic and reason.

"Precaution is better than cure." Goethe had already taught us this amazing lesson through his wise words. By way of conclusion I would like to reiterate the importance for the government to try to solve anticipated problems of the future. Immediate problems are more likely than not to have been borne from contingent threats, and thus foreseeing its rise by examining past events with scrutiny could one truly prevent nuisances to pop up at inconvenient times. While there certainly are surprises that could happen regardless of preparation, trying to eradicate future problems before they could happen is what I believe to be the only way for the authorities to maximize social utility.