Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Throughout the course of an individual's nurture, many consider the field of study that a student chooses for their tertiary education as a significant pivot in their life. As a result, the decision of which, and how to make that decision, has been discussed and debated for some time. Some people insist that talent and interest is of sole importance. Others argue that job vacancies in the market is the variable to consider. It is my utmost belief that a student should truly focus on which field of study calls to their attention instead of setting sight on a discipline that is constituent of a multitude of job opportunities. I would like to use the following paragraphs to elucidate my standpoint.

First and foremost, when simply considering a job with regards to payment and promotional opportunities, there bears no doubt that one in which an individual is specialized in and intrigued by would be higher up in tier. When you consider the proportion that each discipline takes up, it can be inferred from the equilibrium of the demand-and-supply model of labor economics that the number of people in the field of study is roughly commensurate to the proportion of job opportunities in the market. It is safe to assume that a finance major is likely to pursue a job in finance and an art major more often than not would prefer a career in arts instead of the other way around. This implies that the ratio of competitiors for a job opportunity would be roughly proportionate to the number of people in the field, which is in turn positively correlated to the number of job vacancies. Such phenomenon renders the concept of a varying job availability annul, giving students more reasons to consider what they can do best or would like to spend time mastering in as their field of study.

Even if we set aside the concept that competitors of a job is likely proportionate to the availability of jobs in a certain field, it is still inappropriate to consider the number of job vacancies as a dogma to follow. Proponents of the concept that job availability is of highest priority usually argue that job stability, which is usually created by a plethora of job vacancies, can mitigate the volatility of income flux. While it's undoubtedly true that a steady flow of income is appealing to a considerable proportion of the population, I believe that is is spurious to put so much emphasis upon job stability. The reason is that the concept on a stable job is actually not stable. A seemingly immutable career today could very well be precariously replaced in the future, which implies that many jobs run the risk of instability some time in time. If a steady job today is tantamount to a vocation with fewer vacanies, then an individual might as well choose a career that can bring them considerable pleasure, and try to adapt as the everchanging labor market molds itself. In preparation for a job that they find pleasure in, students should therefore consider fields of study that is more attractive to them.

By way of conclusion I would like to reiterate the importance of a student's talents and interests when considering their field of study for their undergraduate work. Firstly, the number of persuers for a job is commensurate to the number of people in a certain field, which is, by law of demand-and-supply, roughly proportionate to the number of job vacancies. Equally noteworthy is that even though a high job availability implies a high job stability for the time being, which is desireable to most of the population, a job is never truly fixtured for eternity and is still susceptible to future replacements. All in all, I truly believe that choosing a discipline that can intrigue a student is of much higher precedence.