Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The decision of what to study in college is difficult. Students must balance their passions and interests and the avalibility of jobs in the market. However, if a student choses a field based on the availability of jobs in it, they will lose in the long run. Students should chose their field based on their own talents and interests. The reason for this decision is because they will feel more statifsification in their work in a field they enjoy and will stay in a given field longer.

The choice of a field based on student interests will give them more satisfication in their work. When a student enjoys their work, they will stay in that field for a long time. My mother went to college to become a nurse. She has been a nurse for over thirty years because she loves the field of nursing. This love makes her happier and more fulfilled. If she had chosen a different field, she could have been unhappy. This unhappines would motitave her to switch jobs multiple times. Enjoyment is obtained when a student choses to study something they have a passion for.

Staying in a given field for the long term is an important element of major choice. Staying in a field allows a student to become more skilled as time pasts. My friend studied criminal justice in a college. He got a job in probation. He has been at his job for over a year and he plans to stay in this field for the rest of his life. He talked about how his job got easier as time passed. This happened because of the experience he had in the field. Without this experience, his job would be difficult. Remaining in a field is key factor in deciding a field in college. The best way to guarnette that someone stays in a given field is have them pursue a field where they have interests in already.

Deciding what to major in college is a very important task. Students must weigh the options based on their passions and what the job market is looking for. By choicing a field that matches their passions and talents, a student is better shape than the student who does not. The student who choses passions over job market will enjoy their work more and stay in their field longer.