The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Worker safety is key to to the success of any company. Increases to work place safety can save a business millions of dollars. There are many aspects that could improve worker safety in the work place. One of these ideas is shorter shifts which could lead to the increase in sleep and thus the increased alertness of the employees. shifts do not guarnette that the workers will be more rested when they come to work. A shorter shift gives the worker more time in the day to do whatever they chose to do. However, shorter shifts should not be the only explanation for increbible safety records.

One factor that could contribute to increases in employee safety is fact that employees need to learn more about the equipment that they are using. This reason could explain why new Panoply factory has had more accidents than nearby factories is because of the employees lack of experience with the equipment. . New equipment does not mean that the equipment is not dangerous to operate. While new equipment gives the employee the ability to work more efficeinty, workers could also be getting used to the new equipment. Whhile someone has to train employees on new equipment, the likely-hood of an accident occurring increases, the safety elements learned would conitune into the future. Increases to training workers on new equipment could lead to increases in work place safety at Panoply.

An explanation that could explain why the new Panoply factory has more accidents is there are more people working in the factory. While the nearby factory produces similar items to those at the new Panoply factory, there could be less employees in the factory. With more employees in the new factory, the amount of accidents would increase simply as amount of employees that work in the factory. It is like adding more cars to the highway, the likehood of an accident increases. This large amount of people in a factory could also cause accidents since veteran workers may not be used to having some many people while they worked. More accidents could be a result of the amount of people in the new factory for Panoply.

Worker safety is a parmount to any business or organization. Making the case that, the reason that the nearby factories are more safe than the new factory based on the shorter shifts of the employees. This assumption is incomplete since it only assumes that accidents are caused by lack of sleep.