The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

In this memo, the vice president of a manufacturing company claims that the company have to shorten its work shifts to reduce occurrence of on-the-job accidents. To support her argument, she says that nearby manufacturing company, Panoply Industries(PI)'s number of on-the-job accidents is 30% lower than her company and its work shifts are one hour shorter than her company. And she cites some experts' opinions that indicate one of the main factors of accidents in workplace is fatigue and sleep deprivation in many companies. And she assumes that safety record of PI is because of shorter work shifts and this shorter work shift of PI can give adequate amounts of rest. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the opinion of experts which say that fatigue and sleep deprivation are significant reason for accidents, the author hastily assumes that the on-the-job accidents in her company could also result from same reason. However, those accidents in her company could not come from sleep deprivation and fatigue. Common sense tells us that there are many factors which cause accidents in workplaces. For example, carelessness of workers can be a cause of accidents in workplaces or deficiency in safety facility can be another reason. Until she cannot explain why she thinks the main reason of on-the-job accidents come from fatigue and sleep deprivation, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if we admit the accidents mainly occur from sleep deprivation and fatigue in her company, based on the fact that the PI has shorter work shifts and lower occurrence of on-the-job accidents, she wrongly presumes that the reason for lower occurrence of job accidents in PI is because of shorter work shifts. However, it could not be a main factor. For example, if PI educates more often and more thoroughly their employees about safety than her company and they observes it well, it is natural that PI reports 30% lower job accidents. If this is true, this argument is groundless.

Finally, even if we admit the other problems are true, there is another problem. Based on the fact that two companies produce similar kinds of products, she hastily presumes that all work condition of the two companies are similar and action in work shits can be remedy for the problem of her company. However, the shorter work shifts cannot be right solution for that problem. For example, even if two companies produces similar kinds of product, the production process could be different or the number of workers or employees' recognition of safety could be different. If she cannot rule out this problem, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the vice president of this manufacturing company has to know exact reason for lower occurrence of job accidents in PI and has to give additional information about main reason of on-the-job accidents in her company. To evaluate better, we should be given explanation about why she thinks the conditions of two companies, except kinds of materials which two companies produce, are similar, in that, why she thinks shortening work shifts would also be effective to reduce job occurrence in her company.