In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The claim that the respondents in the first study of reading habits must misrepresented their reading preferences at first glance seems to be obvious deduction. After all, how can people like literary classics most be found to check out mystery novel most frequently in the second study. However, a careful examination would reveal how groundless this argument is, for it is based on unwarranted and overinterpreted assumptions.

The difference between the two study might be the result of sampling. The author doesn't tell more about how did the study sample. If the study didn't consider about, such as gender, age, education, and did not use the method of stratified sampling, it might be some bias in this result and fail to be representative of citizen in Waymarsh. For example, maybe most respondents are the older, female, high education group, who might love literary classics more in Waymarsh. We just don't know.

Additionally, the argument doesn't mention the demographics of the readers of the public libraries in Waymarsh. If this is disparate with that of respondents, it is intellegentible the two statistics is totally unmatched. Unless the author tenders more detail of these studies, we can not jump to the conclusion that the responses are wrong.

Finally, the relation between preference and action might sometimes not positive. We can not assume that people who like literary classics guarantee to check out this type of book most frequently. These people may already buy these books by themselves so that they don't need to find those in libraries.

To sum up, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions in, between the two study, and human behavior. After perusing, I fundamentally consider this claim implausible.