The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that we human beings now are prominently different from those before can be weighted in many aspects. With some qualification, I fundamentally agree with the statement.

There is a main qualification: dispelling the illusion is the process not the end. People benefited from the abstaining the illusion because of the learning of avoiding faults happening in earlier times, but not the abstaining itself.

Aside with the overinterpretation, I agree that the illusion is really existing. Many people argue that the modern situation is disparate with the primitive for that technology advances, and the living way is totally different on communication, traffic, finance. Yet it is spurious. The structure of society admittedly might not be same, but the stem doesn't change. The minds of humanity are unlikely malleable. People's empathy and apathy, avarice and generosity remain as the time elapses. And they boost the actions of the world.

If we have the illusion, we might believe that it is unworthy to study from history, and might do the wrong things again and again. We can see many tragedies repeat, such as wars. We should admit bad side of humanity that we are as greed and apathetic as our ancestors, so that we can face the nature and build law and policy to eschew the sadness.

To sum up, aside from the overinterpretation that dispelling the illusion that people living now and in the early time are disparate can mainly benefit human beings, I fundamentally agree that the illusion is existing. By banish this, we will learn much from the history and benefit from the learning.