The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The argument that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented by the general welfare of its people, not by the achievements of its ruler, artists, or scientists may have considerable merits. However, “welfare” is not an extremely good indicator which requires to be specific. Furthermore, welfare of people and achievement of governor and so on are not mutually exclusive; thus, I only partially agree with the statement.

Admittedly, people are the most important part of a nation which is just a creature of human to protect themselves. Logically speaking, we can definitely claim that the welfare of people is a prerequisite of good nation.

Nevertheless, when we speak of “welfare”, the following come to our mind: health, wealth, happiness, and freedom. Thus, it is too complicate to be a proper indicator. If we want to institute a sufficient indicator, this might be a set of indicators, rather than an individual one.

Additionally, achievements of governors, artists, scientists can result in advance of society and promotion of human’s welfare in many circumstances. Hence, these achievements can be one of many indicators to measure the greatness of a nation. For example, the advent of national health insurance which is a significant achievement of last president in my country helps many poor people to get appropriate health care.

To sum up, the welfare of people is the most important element of a good nation, however, not a good enough indicator for its complexity. Instead, a proper indicator is a set of indicators includes more specific measurements of people’s welfare and achievements of governors, artists, scientists.