[15] The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Suggesting that replacing butter with margarine in Happy Pancake House throughout southwestern U.S. causes a few complains, the author concludes that this hasn't impacted on their customers. However, there are a number of possible alternative explanations that can be employed to invalidate the apparently sound interpretation.

First, to reach the conclusion that the impact is little, the author mentions there is only about 2 percent of customers have complained, and posits that 98 percent are happy to change. Nevertheless, the reasoning line between the 2 percent, and the 98 percent is rife with holes and assumptions. We don't know where does the 2 percent come from. Maybe the feedback form is too inconvenient for most customers to fill. Even if the form is accessible, we can't assume that people who don't express their dislike equate to people is happy. To be specific, some consumers could complain just when they meet the situation twice, and some who don't complain may just don't patronize the restaurants any more. Hence, there are many possible scenarios where the statistic doesn't reflect the accurate dissatisfaction.

Additionally, the author mentions "many servers" report "a number of customers" don't complain when given margarine after asking better. Nevertheless, without specific numbers, we can not imply that customers complain little. "Many servers" could be the workers who serve at night when few customers would order butter to avoid consume too much fat. "Many servers" may be 20 servers out of 1000 servers. "A number of customers" alike might be 5 out of 10. We just don't know. These equivocal words can't lead to the explanation the author claims.

Finally, even if there really is a small part of customers who dislike the change, we can not jump to the conclusion that there is little impact. There might be some alternative consequences. For instance, the amount of consumption attributes to the consumers who disagree with the change accounts for 10% of the revenue. The influence of the dislike may be disproportionately bigger in that the bad words spread quicker than the benign.

To sum up, the author's argument that the complains is few and the impact is little could be true at some situation. However, there are many alternative explanations. The author doesn't offer enough statistic to determine which statement is most likely, and can't fundamentally persuad us.