Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is debatable whether the ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than then the ability to make many new friends easily. Some people may think making many new friends is pleasure, however, in my opinion, the ability to maintain close friends is crucial to happiness for two reasons.

To begin with, relaxed feeling which close old friends give us is the key to bolster happiness. We always feel relax to hang out with close friends, especially the old ones, because we know each other very much. We can do whatever we want with these friends. For example, last year I went travel with my peers who I know for more than ten years. in the trip, because we are so used to each other's habits, we could expect everything and enjoyed our trip. By contrast, it is nervous to get along with new friends. We cannot anticipate what is the responses of some friends we are not familiar to, and we are require to guess. As a result, it is really tiring to get along with new friends.

Moreover, a small group of old friends remind people the wonderful memories which is the resource of happiness. Human beings are the kind of creatures who cherish memories. We can feel feelings of belonging thanks to memories. To be specific, there are plentiful memories between old friends which brings happiness to people. For instance, I have many memories with my best friend who is my neighbor. We met each other more than 20 years earlier. Maintaining our friendship help us to memorize every important moment between us. I am always in a good if we get together and talk about our childhood.

Admittedly, some people may argue that making as much as possible new friends benefit people to broaden their horizons. However, it is not the stem of happiness. In other words, with the reasons I mentioned above I believe that the ability to maintain a small of old friends is more important for happiness.