Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

It is debatable whether the ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than then the ability to make many new friends easily. While some people think that the ability to maintain old friends is important, I contend that the capability of making many new friends is actually the crucial skill in our lives for the following reasons.

Firstly, the ability to make many new friends helps us become flexible because we are required to learn how to get along with habits that every friend has no matter whether they are good or bad. Everyone has their own advantages and shortcomings. If we can make many new friends, then we acquire the capability to understand different habits and we are more flexible to deal with anything new. By contrast, if we don't have flexibility, then we could be frustrated and angry very often only when seeing any behaviors that we don't expect. To put it differently, the capacity to make many new friends is the essence of being happy for we have the ability to face anything mew.

Secondly, sociability is the key to success in that different friends can help us in different situations and address problems. All human beings are limited for no one familiar with every field. The benefits of making many friends show when we meet some troubles that we can't handle. Our friends can help us to solve the problem. To be specific, if we have many different friends who have various specialties, then they can help us to deal with whatever situations we meet. For example, some friends good at marketing can solve business problems, and others excelling in' medicine help healthy troubles. In other words, the ability to make as many as possible friends benefit us to increase the possibility to achieve success which is the stem of happiness.

Lastly, it is conducive to our horizons in making new friends. Everyone is just like a book which is full of different stories. We can learn many new things from our friends and lead a more interesting life if we can make different new friends. For example, hardly can we go to every country in the world, but if we have a lot of friends, then we can learn different cultures and traditions all around this earth. Accordingly, we can become happy since making many friends enriches our lives.

Admittedly, there are some advantages of maintaining friendship with a small group of people over a long period of time such as reminding our memories in childhood. However, it is secondary. With the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that the ability to make many new friends is more important for happiness.