Some people prefer to exercise alone, such as running, while others like to exercise with a group of people, such as joining a sports team. Which do you prefer?

Though some people prefer exercising with a group of people, such as playing basketball or tennis, personally, I would like to exercise alone because of the reasons I will explain below.

To begin with, I am an introvert, and exercising alone helps me truly relax. When I work out alone, say running, the only thing I need to care about is my own pace. I don't need to care about what I look like, whether I run faster than others or not because there is only me. This way, I feel really comfortable and relaxed. By contrast, if I join a sports team, then I will start thinking that do I perform well, do they think I am cool, do I need to chat with them during our breaks. It is really exhausting to care so much about other things. Therefore, because of my character, instead of exercising with a team, it is better for me to work out by myself.

Furthermore, exercising alone enables me to concentrate on my own thoughts and figure out something difficult. In this busy society, there are many frustration and trouble required to be deal with. However, people always find out that they cannot concentrate their thought and effort to handle these problems in that there is always something troublesome coming up when they address the existing. But when we exercise, we won't be distracted by any new problem since we can't surf the Internet or talk with others and know some new troubles, then we can concentrate on the existing problem. Moreover, exercising alone enable people just focusing on themselves, rather than their teammates, thus people can devote all their thought and address their own problems successfully. For example, recently I have been anxious about my preparation for the TOEFL, but because of my work, I always feel difficult to focus on my study. Nevertheless, when I went to the gym, listened to English while running on the treadmill, then I found out that I can totally concentrate on my pace and my listening. Since that, I feel my English listening ability progresses.

Lastly, I am a lazy person, and I can exercise alone whenever I want without wasting my time to make appointments with others. For example, If I want to run at midnight, then I can go. By contrast, I need to wait for others’ free time if I want to play tennis, basketball or any kind of team sports. Nowadays, everyone has their own business, and it takes a lot of time to match everyone's schedule. Thus, only if people exercise alone, can we satisfy our willingness to exercise at any time.

Admittedly, some people might argue that joining a sports team is more interesting. However, fun is not the crucial thing I want to get through exercise. With the reasons I mentioned above, personally, I prefer to exercise alone.