[32] The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following

recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring

of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their

workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours

spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing

software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent

employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall

profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries argues that their company should monitor employees' Internet use in work place, so that this company will improve their overall profits. To support his claim, he mentions that monitoring and punishing the one who surfs on Internet to do personal activities will prevent employees from wasting time and improving their productivity. However, this argument is rife with unwarranted assumption, thus, is not compelling at all.

Firstly, monitoring Internet use doesn't preclude wasting time. There are many other things which employee can spend on, such as chatting, drinking, or just daydreaming. The stem of whether employees focus on their jobs is the jobs' meaning, but not the ban of Internet. If the job is meaningful for the worker, even though no one supervises him, him will concentrate on it.

Furthermore, the relation between no wasting time and productivity is fallacious. A company needs many aspects of works to ensure their efficiency. For example, if there is no promise, or working schedule, even every subordinates work hard, the outcome could be adverse.

Finally, the assumption that improving employees' productivity ensures profits is nonsense. An industry is lucrative if it sells its products well. How is the selling depend on many variables including some which the company can’t control, such as the overall economic environment. As a result, productivity won't guarantee profits.

In sum, the reasoning line in this recommendation is rife with hole and fallacious assumptions. Thus, we can claim that to monitor Internet use is unwarranted at all: there is no evidence that this will lead to reduce time-wasting and improve profit.