Do you agree or disagree: In the past, people were more interested in improving their neighborhood than they do now.

Some people might argue that people nowadays are as interested in maintaining their relationships with neighbors as before. However, in my opinion, people in the past were much more interested in improving their neighborhood than they do today for several reasons.

One of the important reasons that people in the past need to improve their neighborhood more than now is social structure. The main industry before was agriculture. Tasks of cultivating crops required many people. However, every family had limited efforts, so they needed their neighbors to help. And only the one who had a good relationship in their neighborhood could get help. As a result, people in the past were required to improve their neighborhood. By contrast, our world now develops into industrial society where the division of labor is strong. Given that the professions of neighbors are generally different, humans don't need as much neighbors' help as before. Therefore, people in modern society are less interested in improving their neighborhood.

Another reason that people before focus on improving their relationships with neighbors is that most neighbors were their friends. Because of the limit of transportation, people couldn't go to places in a distance and they could only hang out with their neighbors. Hence, they cared about their relationships. Nevertheless, with the advent of the Internet, people now can make friends with anyone wherever they are. To be more specific, while humanity in the past can only connect someone maybe in 100 kilometers, people now can keep in touch with someone 10000 kilometers away. In other words, humans don't treasure neighborhoods as much as before due to the fact that they can make friends out of neighborhoods.

A further reason is that people in the past rely on their neighbors to maintain their safety. The police system was not complete before. People needed to protect their village by themselves, and how good this protection was depended significantly on how cooperative the neighbors were. On the contrary, people now depend on police to protect them, thus, the relationship between neighbors are less crucial.

Admittedly, some people might still focus on maintaining their neighborhood. But it's just an exception. With the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that humanity in the past was far more interested in improving their neighborhood than they do now.