Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

It is debatable whether the ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than then the ability to make many new friends easily. While some people think that the ability to maintain old friends is important, however, I contend that the capability of making many new friend is actually a crucial skill in our lives for the following reasons.

Firstly, the ability to make many new friends helps us become flexible because we require to learn how to get along with habits that every friends have no matter they are good or bad. In the 21st century, team work and interdisciplinary collaborations become the mainstream style of work life especially for the tertiary sector. If we can make many new friends, then we acquire the capability to understand different habits and we are more flexible to resolve interpersonal conflict and disagreements in a positive way. By contrast, if we don't have flexibility, then we could be frustrated and angry very often only when seeing any behaviors that we don't expect. To put it differently, the capacity to make many new friends can improve our interpersonal skills and mental well-being.

Secondly, socializing is the key to problem solving in that different friends can provide varying skills for a range of situations. All human beings are limited for no one familiar with every fields. The benefits of making many friend show when we meet some troubles that we can't handle. To be specific, if we have many different friends who have various specialties and experiences, then they can help us to deal with whatever situations we meet. For example, some friends good at marketing can solve business puzzles, and others excelling in medicine help with health issues. In other words, the ability to make as many as possible friends benefit us to increase the possibility to achieve success which is the stem of happiness.

Lastly, it is conducive to our horizons that making new friends. Everyone is just like a book who is full of different story. Our time is limited but we can broaden our horizons by making new friends. For example, hardly can we go to every country in the world, but if we have a lot of friends, then we can learn different cultures and traditions all around the earth. This helps to develop new interests and accordingly we can become happy since making many friends enrich our lives.

Admittedly, there are some advantages that maintaining friendship with a small group of people over a long period of time such as reminding our memories in childhood. However, it is secondary. With the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that the ability to make many new friends is more important for happiness.