Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Whether universities should require all students to take variety of courses outside their field of study depends on the student's major and motivation. With some qualification, I fundamentally agree with this argument.

We need to revise two part of the claim: first, some students who major in burdensome department, such as architecture, may have no enough time to take other courses. If these students are already too busy in their major to sleep enough, how can we require them to learn properly in various courses. Secondly, the author doesn't take motivation of students into account. Some students could not be motivated to take a variety of courses. Even though the schools can compel them to do so, the result may backfire in that they just drop the class they don't like.

Aside from the two qualification, I agree that universities should encourage students to take various courses out of their major. For one thing, taking different fields of class will help students to broaden their horizons. For example, students who major in computer science take sociology course may help them to understand the trend of world, and make their software design more useful and lucrative. As a result, those with training of various courses will be more competitive in the current job market.

For another thing, taking other department's course may benefits students in making friends who might be disparate to themselves. Students can learn from the experience to communicate to someone whose reasoning line is much unfamiliar to them. Hence, these will help student to adapt to the real would which is composed by all kinds of different people.

To sum up, aside from the sweeping generalization that every student is obligated to take the courses outside their field, I fundamentally agree that various courses benefit students, and universities should encourage their students to take such courses.