When working on a project, it’s better for classmates or colleagues to communicate face to face than sending emails.

It is debatable whether it's better for classmates or colleagues to communicate face to face than sending emails when working in a project. While some people argue that sending email is better, I still believe that communicating face to face is the correct choice because of the three following reasons.

Firstly, face to face communication is more efficient than email discussion. When we have a face to face meeting, we can discuss and solve any problem right on the meeting. By contrast, if we discuss through email, we always need to wait for someone to reply and get the answers. As a result, sending email to address a project is much more inefficient than the face to face meeting. Admittedly, some people might argue that discussing through email can save traffic time to gather together. However, take into account that the time wasting on waiting, face to face communication is actually the time-saving choice.

Secondly, direct communication avoids misunderstanding in that everyone can see the facial expression of each other. This expression delivers many underlying meanings that can't be observed through letters. For example, when writing an email to ask for help, hardly can we express our appreciation, then others might feel that we compel them to do something and become angry. On the contrary, if we discuss face to face, then others can catch the appreciation in our face which ensures that this kind of misconception will never happen.

Lastly, when people gather together to work on projects, free riders will start to take this work seriously for they may get more stress from their peers. Humans tend to follow most people around them. Given that most classmates or colleagues concentrate on projects, the would-be free rider will imitate others and work together. In other words, as people can physically see each other, it is difficult not to participate.

Certainly, there are some advantages of work through email, such as discussing without traffic time and the limit of space. However, these advantages are not crucial. With the reasons I mentioned above, I think that classmates and colleagues should communicate face to face when they work on their projects for its benefits are far more significant than sending email.