Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is highly debatable that whether government should spend more money to support the arts than to support athletics, and this topic can be approached from several angle due to its complexity. However, deeply deliberate over this topic, I content that a good government should balance its financial support of the arts and athletics and the following discussion reveals my reasoning.

On one hand, it is truly important that governments overwrite artists and assist the development of arts. Arts broaden human's horizons, clear our mind and benefit people's spiritual health. Take my friend, Amy, for example. Amy was ones a shy, diffident girl who had never spoken on the stage without shaking. Nevertheless, after she entered the university’s art department, the knowledge and beauty of arts enlighten her mind and bring rich ideas to her. She becomes confident and always offer intellectual insight.

On the other hand, exercising is a crucial, but taxing, way to enhance physical health. Few people could exercise spontaneously without stimulation. Thus, governments should support and emphasize athletics to promote its citizen’s fitness. For instance, bolstering state-sponsored Olympic teams is a good approach to awaken the importance of athletics for the Olympic game is the apex in the sport world. These athletes exemplify the ideal and people will follow them to exercise.

Accordingly, in order to strengthen its citizens and become a great country, a government should aid equally the arts and athletics in that only people with both mental and physical health is truly strong. To be specific, without arts, human who excel at athletics could be physical healthy but mental weak; without athletics, a country may be rife with citizens whose life span is short.

In sum, with the reasons I mention above, firstly, arts benefit people's mental health, secondly, athletics enhance physical health, and a great country consist of people with wellness, I believe that governments should wholeheartedly and equivalently support arts and athletics.