[67] The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic

survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute

now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town

council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as

being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential

neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year

Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them

coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was

implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably.

There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The notion that the government in Waymarsh should implement a policy as Garville that encourages people to share ride to solve a traffic problem seems at first glance to be an obvious recommendation. After all, this policy can work in Garvill. However, a careful examination will find how groundless this is, for the evidence is insufficient.

Firstly, the premise upon which the whole argument rests is the claim that the traffic times have rised in three years in Waymarsh. However, the only evidence the arguer submits about past commute times is a state traffic survey. There is no specific information about where and how was the survey conducted. We can’t tell the statistic includes the specific statistic of Waymarsh or is a general state data which is dubious to apply to Waymarsh directly for there is no more background statistics about the Waymarsh and the overall state.

Additionally, the survey which just completed now to be the contrast of three years ago and support the claim that traffic times rise is also uninformative. The arguer doesn’t offer any evidence to buttress its validity, thus, the research is not plausible enough. For example, maybe the survey is a college student's homework which research method is dubious. The researcher may only asked people live in city center, however, the traffics in most part of Waymarsh are great in fact. Also, the research region might be different to the state survey, hence the outcome can’t be contrast directly. We just don't know.

Furthermore, the reasoning line between a policy works in Garvill and this same policy would function in Waymarsh is unsound. The arguer doesn't offer more pieces of evident about the two cities' circumstances and demographics. Thus, we can't not jump to the conclusion that identical policy can be implemented properly at different places.

To sum up, this recommendation is not persuasive for the locking of evidence. The arguer requires to give more pieces of support about the survey's validity and the two city's basic information to make the recommendation more cogent.