The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work the commute now ta

The letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times concludes that a policy to incentivize car (or any vehical) pooling should be adapated inorder to reduce the elevating problem of traffic. This is based on the evidence that a similar policy adapted in a nearby city has proved to be successfull. While, the argument may be true, the author of the letter relies on several unwarranted assumptions, which if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the conclusion made in the letter. Hence, three assumptions must be addressed for the viability of the conclusion.

Firstly, the author contrues that the traffic recently been doubled, since the commute time has grown. This direct correlation cannot be established without consideration of certain external factors, which might depict otherwise. There is a possibilty that recently the roads have been weathered by climatic conditions that have caused to increase the transportation time. Further, it is also possible that roads are not well-maintaned since three years, which might have subsequently increased the commute time. If, any of these scenarios are true, then author's argument does not hold water.

Secondly, it needs to be addresed that by what degree the city of Garville is comparable to the city of Waymarsh. There is a possibility that unlike the city of Garville, everyone has a different route or destination. This voids the intention of bringing the policy, since it will not be possible for peoplle to commute together. This would not impetus the population of Waymarsh. In addition, it is possible that the population of Garville has significantly decreased, causing lesser traffic and consequently lesser pollution than before. If that is the case , than the policy in Garville does not attribute to reduction in traffic. If, any of the cases holds merit than the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, it is based on the assumption that people appreciate the incentives so much so that they are likely to follow the policy. In other words, it is possible that the people of Waymarsh are indifferent to the incentives provided. Take an instance, where all the families of the city of Garville are profusely rich. If this is the case then the monetary benefits are less likely have an affectation on Garville's population. Consider another case where it is plausible that spending money on the incentives, might lead to a higher expense than that of building new roads. If this is the case than the author's claim becomes false as the members of the town are unlikely to take such decision.

In conclusion, the authors argument is flawed. While further evidence, if provided, will help to fully evalute the situtation. The author's argument, as of now, is not conclusive due to several unwanted assumptions.