The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals One year ago we introduced our first product Bargain Brand breakfast cereal Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top selling cereal companies

The memo to the board of director suggests to expand the business of Bargain Brand and invest in marketing of other products as well. This conclusion is based on the evidence that there have been high profits in their existing product - cereals. However, the conclusion drawn in the memo rests on several unstated assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. This three questions must be answered in order to justify the conclusion.

Firstly, what is proof of the assertion that other customers preferred Bargain brand breakfast brand's cereal due to its low price? There could have been several other factors involved. For instance, the quality of existing brands in this domain might have deteriorated significantly; causing the customers to leave their brand and supplant with another. Further consider a case where the the existing top-selling companies are involved in some kind of political controversy, it also might have instigated abhor amongst the people for them making them leave for the cereal of Bargain Breakfast brand. Either way, if any of the above scenarios are true than the memo's suggestion is significantly weakened since it is unlikely for these scenarios to mirror in other products as well.

Second question that needs to be addressed is - what is the viability of not raising the prices in the near future? The memo states that they did not need to raise there prices until now to make profits but what is the likelihood that the aforementioned trend will continue in future. There might have been a possibilty that inorder to sustain and compete, they will have to need to raise their prices in future. For example, the price of ingredients to make cereals have significantly increased, causing to company to raise price in order to be profitable. If this is true than memo's argument does not hold water, since the evidence is fortuitous.

Third question is - what is the likelihood that the company will see same trends in terms of profits, if it launches other products? The memo arrives at a conclusion to launch disparate line of products, based on the evidence of the current product. While there might be a possibilty that such statistical prediction might not be observed. Consider a case, where they do not have expertise in creating other products such as oatmeal. It is likely that the product will fail. This scenario depicts the uncertainity that may arise if such suggestion is adhered. If this is the case, the memo's suggestion does not have any weight.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its several unstated assumptions. If the memo is able to address these three questions with more evidence, then it is possible to fully evaluate the viabilty of the provided suggestion.