A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to

The memorandum from the business manager of television station suggests returning to devoting of time on weather and local news to increase viewership. The manager arrives at this conclusion based on the evidence that there have been multiple complaints regarding this change of news structure. However, the conclusion relies on several unwarranted assumptions. If these assumptions are not substantiated, it dramatically weakens the argument for this suggestion made by the author. Hence, three evidences must be addressed.

First evidence that is required is in regards to the likelihood that the complaints are going to follow the same trend. There is a possibility that watching local and weather news was indispensable last year, this might not be the case this year. Take an instance, that the weather of particular region was constantly harsh. Hence, creating a need for checking upon the local and weather news. While it is also possible that people will want to see national news this year, due to elections or any other major national event going on. This will create a scenario where people will file complaints for not covering the national news. If any of the scenarios hold merit then the author's suggestion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is possible that the local business have canceled the contracts for other reasons apart from the television station not displaying weather and local news. If this is the case than this reasoning of manager becomes hollow. Consider a case where this business is running out of funds, then there is possibility that it will curtail the existing budget; canceling the contracts with the television station. Another case is, that the station is behaving unethically in their contract, making the business cut ties with the station. If any of the cases are true than the author's argument does not hold water.

Lastly, there is a possibility that reverting back to weather and local news might not increase viewership. There is no direct correlation that can be defined as the one that made in the claim. Consider a case, where the people have already switched to other television stations. This means that if they are acquanited with the new station, than it is unlikely that they will return to this station. Take another instance, where the people have switched to smartphones for watching news than it is unlikely that the users will switch back to the station again. If any of these scenarios are likely, than the author's conclusion does not hold weight.

In conclusion, the suggestion made by manager accompanies with many unstated assumptions. Evidence in regards with to these assumptions is required in order to fully evaluate the argument. If further evidence is provided, then the manager's argument might hold water.