According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actu

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company concludes to allot more investment towards advertising for a better reach of the company. This is based on the evidence of increased positive reviews that depicts quality, and hence better reach is required. Before coming to this conclusion, the advertising director needs to address three questions.

First question that needs to be addressed is that reach of the movie. Reports show that a fewer people watched their movies. There is a possibilty that the movie was inaccesible to them. Consider a case, where the movie was only released in some areas, due to strict censor boards. Even if people wanted to watch the movie, they couldn't have. In addition, there might have been case that the movie screen was restricted to only 25 percent of total capacity (due to Covid-19 restrictions), in this case the screening for number of people significantly decreases. If any of the above situations have occured than the director's assertion is not true.

Another question that arises is the plausibilty of bias reviews. Since the report says that fewer people showed upto to the movies. The reach for the movie might have been specific and that is why only a few people appeared at the movies. This elevates the possibility that if the people with similar views were only the ones at movies, this might have been cause of increased amount of positive reports. Take an instance, that the movie is from a refined field, which might have attracted a group of people. This might have lead to their sanguine reviews. Consider another case, that the movies were released only in some areas who might have several optimistic people. This might have lead to the bias in the reviews. If any of the situation is true than the director's conclusion does not hold water.

The third question that needs to be addressed is the quality of movies. Increased positive reviews is not certainly the only criterion for a good quality of movie. Movie's should be deeply analyzed to 'test' its quality. The director assumes that positive reviews have direct relation with the quality of their movies. While this might not have been the case. Consider a situation where these films were not of interest to reverent critics this might have circumvented negative reviews. Take another instance where the reviews are not accurate and they have been produced by a hacker who also is a hard core follower of the company. In this case the reviews are spurious. If any of the above situation is true than director's conclusion is wrong.

In conclusion, there three questions needs to be addresed before acting upon director's suggestion to allot more funds for advertising. If more evidence, would have been provided than the conclusion could have been more robust.