The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities Recently we signed a contract with the Fly Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast food w

The memo from vice president of a food distribution company suggests reuturning to Buzzoff Pest control service. This is based on the evidence that more worth of damage has been done, when pest control is conducted by Fly-away pest control company. However, while the conclusion drawn by the vice president might hold water, it rests on assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the arguments. Thus the three arguments must be answered.

First of all, it states that $20,000 food has been destroyed due to pests, while it might be true that the pest control of Fly Away company might be ineffective, there are several other causes that might have caused this to happen. For instance, the warehouse was exposed excessive humidity, that made the pest  attack unavoidable. Further, consider the case that the quality of the food of a batch was deteriorated while it was in manufacturing and this batch delivered to Palm city . This might have led to pest infestation and pest control by different company would have made no difference . If either of the scenarios have merit, than the conclusion drawn by the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it might be possible that the warehouses in Palm City and Wintervale have different environmental conditions. This means, a direct correlation cannot be formed. This places, due to several factors, might be different. For instance, there might be the case that pest infestation due to environment, is significantly higher in Palm city in comparision with Wintervale. Take another instance, that the shelf life of food, due to climatic conditions in Palm city, significantly decreases. This shows that the end result is indifferent to the company they select. If the above scenarios are true than author's argument does not hold water.

Lastly, it needs to be addressed that are the quantities or food in both warehouses are comparable or not. This means, that it plausible that the Palm city simply has a warehouse that can hold more than double capacity of food. This if true will explain that why the pest damage was of double worth. Further, it might be possible that the Palm city warehouse holds more expensive food items than the Wintervale warehouse does. This would make it easier to explain, the significant difference in total damage(in terms of money). If this is the case, then the author's argument does not hold weight.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is consideraby flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president is able to address these assumptions and provide more evidence (perhaps in form of research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the suggestion to predilect Buzzoff pest Control Company over Fly-Away pest control company.