The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of a food distribution company suggests that control services should return to Buzzoff because the damage by Buzzoff is less than that by Fly-Away Control Company. However, some musing over evidence is first very much in order before taking any steps.

Firstly, the author claims that the food destroyed by pest damage in Palm city is twice as much as Wintervale. Still, the credentials of these warehouses in Palm city and Wintervale have to be presented before we trust the argument. It is possible that the amount of food conserved in Palm city is ten times that in Wintervale and the loss percentage due to pest damage is only half of it in Wintervale. In other words, the information about how amount of food conserved in Palm City and Wintervale has to be offered to make the argument more cogent.

Additionally, even if both sites conserve exactly the same amount of food, the detailed environment information is not clear, such as temperature and humidity. Because they could affect pest growing condition dominantly. For instance, the temperature and humidity in Palm City is much higher than Wintervale City, so the number of pests in Palm City is actually ten times of Wintervale and the food in Palm City is likely to be ate by pests.

Besides, the performance report from Fly-Away is not enough representative as Buzzoff. According to the argument, Buzzoff has been cooperated for many years, but Fly-Away is the new one and the data reported is from last month. Judging by scare data could be dangerous, so more credentials of Fly-Away performance data is wanted. It is possible that Fly-Away is the world-top pest control company and has been adopted by most famous food companies, their performance may suffer a little bit at the beginning for the transition route because anything is not settled during that time. In the long term long, Fly-away could be the most reliable pest control company according to 3rd party authoritative investigation reports. It is suggested that the vice president should consult with other companies or investigation companies for more performance results of Fly-Away Company.

Moreover, The author proposes that returning service to Buzzoff because it’s the best way to save money even the price offered by Fly-Away is lower than Buzzoff. Nevertheless, the detailed financial information is opaque and has to be provided. It could be true that Buzzoff costs 1 percent more than Fly-Away, but the overall loss is only half of Fly-Away and the overall benefit is almost 2 times than Fly-Away for the same warehouses and the same weather condition. On the contrary, if Buzzoff actually costs 3 times than Fly-Away, but it only saves 10% food loss by pest damage. Therefore, Fly-Away is the one to save money as a whole, not Buzzoff. The writer has to offer detailed financial information including income, loss with total amount and percentage under Fly-Away and Buzzoff.

In conclusion, unless the evidence mentioned above to be presented, readers could not believe in the argument.