The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities Recently we signed a contract with the Fly Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast food w

In the memo, the vice president of a food distribution company concludes that they should sign a contract with Buzzoff Pest Control Company to give the safety of their foods in their warehouses in Palm City to the hand of this company again. The vice president reached this conclusion based on the Fly-Away Pest Control Company's incompetency, with which they signed a contract recently, in eradicating and controlling the pest in their warehouses in Palm City, which has applied great financial damage to the company. Nevertheless, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several answered questions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, are all the pests similar in all regions? The pests might be different in Palm City and Wintervale. It is possible that the methods implemented by Buzzoff company work in Wintervale, but those methods have no effect on pests in Palm City, and because of this reason, the company has decided to supersede Buzzof company with Fly-Away company in Palm City. If this scenario has merit, the vice president's assertion that based on the difference between the worth of the food that was lost during the last month in the warehouses in these two regions, the company should give pest control of all its warehouses to Buzzoff company is significantly hampered.

Secondly, are the size of warehouses even in these regions? Maybe the warehouse in Palm City is so gigantic and incorporates a total worth of $100,000 of food, $20,000 of which was destroyed last month, which equals to 20 percent loss. On the other hand, the total worth of food in Wintervale warehouse was $20,000, $10,000 of which was ruined, which is equal to 50 percent loss. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, does the lower charge of Fly-Away company compensate for the financial damage they might introduce to the company every month? The difference between Buzzoff company's charge to take control of the pests in the warehouse in Palm City and Fly-Away company's charge to do the same might be above $20,000, which is the amount of money that the company lost due to pest invasion in their warehouse in Palm City. If it is true that the difference between these two companies' charge outcompete the amount of pecuniary damage that Fly-Away company apply to the distribution company, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that the company will benefit if the vice president puts Buzzoff company in charge of controlling and fighting the pests in all the company's warehouses throughout the country, including the one in Palm City. Nonetheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unanswered questions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author must provide answers to all the above-mentioned crucial questions.