Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton 50 miles away Moreover relative to population size the diagnosis of stress related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton

Leevile Chamber of commerce suggests that workers of the Leevile town have an overall better health, making them take a fewer off days than the population in the city of Masonton does. This is based on the evidence that the the stess-related illness is much lower Leevile than the city of Masonton due to itls slower lifestlye. While this explanation is plausible, it does rely on significant unwarranted assumptions, if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the Chamber's reasoning.

The author mentions that the people of town Leevile took a lesser amount of sick days than the city. The elucidation might not be related to a better mental health condition. Another reasons are also plausible. For instance, consider the case where the people of Leevile are zealous about their jobs. This might create a better attendance of workers, even if they are not completely healthy. This might be plausible explanation which has nothing to do fast-paced life. Further, it also might be possible that the people of the town are paid wages on daily basis. This might create an extrinsic motivation and preclude them from taking a sick day. If this scenarios are true, then the author's conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, there might be a situation that the city's environmental conditions are making them more sick(or feign to be sick). Consider a case where there is a viral infection across the town of Masonton which enervates a person completely. This might have affected the overall report of that time frame (creating outliers - extre conditions), and depicted more sick holidays. Another case might be that the environment of the job might not be suitable, maybe the lack of motivation to work in a particular culture (of Masonton city) might make them flunk more of the days. If external factors are causing this to happen, than the author's argument is significantly weakend.

Lastly, the Leevile Chamber of commerce concludes that Leevile has a 'relaxed' pace of life while that might be true that certainly does not guarantee the obviate of a stress-related illness. It is possible that mental-health is not affected due to the 'pace' of the lifestyle around. There are several reasons that might have caused this to happen. For example, it might be possible that personal issues, lack of opportunities or poor living conditions in cities have instigated such anxiety among the people of city causing interference in their work-life balance. If this scenario holds merit than the author's argument does not hold weight.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its ignorance of several alternative explanations. If the Leevile Chamber of Commerce is able to address this explanation with more evidence, then it is possible to fully evaluate the justification of the explanation. If not, there could be several more possible explanations.