Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above argument presents us a comparison between the lifestyle between the workers from Masonton and Leeville. It is stated that the latter take fewer sick leaves and are diagnosed with fewer stress related ailments. This has been attributed to a much slower lifestyle in Leeville. This appears to be a sound explanation to the observed behaviors but, on examining the evidence presented closely alternative explanations can be provided which may undermine the author's argument.

Firstly, the author presents us with the evidence that workers from Masonton avail a greater number of sick leaves as compared to the workers from Leeville. The phenomenon may also occur due to the differences in company policy in the two cities. The employers in Leeville may have structured their policies so as to provide enough vacations or paid leaves over the course of the year to ensure the well-being of those employed over there. Whereas, those working in Masonton may have been denied this privilege and may be availing sick leaves for other reasons.

Furthermore, the author presents us with the fact that fewer stress related diseases are diagnosed in Leeville as compared to Masonton. It is to be noted that the author takes into consideration the entire population of the cites. This opens us to the possibility that the evidence presented above may be heavily influenced by the demographics of the cities. The population of Leeville could largely consist of elderly and a younger generation who are not subjected to high stress levels. On the contrary, the residents of Masonton may consist mostly of working individuals who are subjected to high stress working environments. Hence, this evidence is not conclusive enough to be presented as support to the argument.

The chamber of commerce uses the associates the evidences presented above to conclude that the relaxed pace of life offered by Leeville is responsible for the higher quality of life there. One cannot deny the benefits of a slower pace of life, but as we have seen above much of the evidence presented can be explained using a myriad of other explanations. Therefore, the conclusion is not valid as the evidence that it cites do not allow us to logically associate the observations to the lifestyle differences without examining the various other parameters involved.

Therefore, to conclude it can be said that the evidence presented by the author is not irrefutable and as demonstrated it can be contested using other alternative explanations and thus, the author is advised to re-examine his argument and ensure the credibility of the evidence being submitted in support of the assertion.