Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is highly debatable whether the rules that societies expect youths to follow and obey are too strict in the present. The issue can be approached from several angle: comparing and real situations. After deliberating this argument from these aspects, I contend the opposite that the rules aren't strict now.

On one hand, comparing to the past, the rules obligate young people to obey are far looser nowadays. In the past, the rules about genders, age, and relationship were concrete. Everyone should act as their social roles. Take the old customs in my country for example to elaborate this idea. Ladies, especially unmarried girls, couldn't go out without covering their face. Young people could get promotion in their jobs only if the older had promoted. The younger generation should respect the elder no matter what they did. However, as time elapse, all of these rules have been viewed old-fashioned in modern society.

On the other hand, the rules nowadays can’t be rigorous due to the development of technology. The advent of the Internet remake the relationship and rules between humans in that the distance among people is widened. Now people can work from home, make friends from websites, and even live without leaving their houses. This distance makes people's relation changeable, and further make rules loose for two main reasons. Firstly, because of the anonymity on the Internet, societies hardly enforce rules which are expected youth to follow. Secondly, even if the rules are enforced, young people could cut the relations and neglect these rules easily.

Accordingly, modern young people have more freedom as the rules expected them to obey are loose. Youths are more likely to do what they want, and whatever they like. For instance, girls can go out dressing whatever they want. Both young female and male can get promotion just because of their achievement, but not their ages. The judgments of right or wrong are based on facts and law, but no longer generation.

In sum, with the reasons and examples I mention above, the rules in the past are far more rigorous, the technology development enable young people to eschew rules, and people have more freedom nowadays, I believe that the rules that obligate youths to follow are loose in this modern society.