] The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the

average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of

sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied,

those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher

profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it

should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At first glance, it might be an obvious recommendation to hire only people who need no more than 6 hour of sleep per night. After all, the study shows that Mentian advertising executives who sleep less than these hours make more profits. However, a careful examination will reveal how groundless the argument is, for it is based on unwarranted and oversimplified assumptions.

First, we should ask who conducted the study which support the recommendation. If the study is conducted by Mentian advertising itself, is the statistic of this research reliable? After all, are there many employees would say they sleep a lot when their company's researchers ask them such question? The author assumes that the study valid and use this statistic to support its recommendation would be debatable.

Second, though the study could be reliable in that the respondents gave true answers, it would be insufficient to apply the situation of executives to all employees. The requirements of different positions would be disparate. Maybe executives need sleeping less to get up early, make sound plans, and ask their subordinates to follow, but some workers, such as art editors, just need to sleep more to improve their creativity.

Additionally, the author implies that the case of Mentian advertising can apply to all business. It is, however, totally unwarranted. Even if all the employees in Mentian advertising who sleep less make more money. Why can we believe that this condition is reasonable in all other advertising companies, and even all business? If we have no more evidence to clarify that the requirement of other kinds of industries is the same, we can’t jump to the conclusion that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only the person who sleeps less than 6 hours.

To sum up, the argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, it is not a compelling recommendation.