Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is debatable whether educators should require all university student to take history courses no matter their majors. This issue could be approached by several angles due to its complexity. However, after deeply elaborating, I contend that undergraduates do not be obligated to take history courses.

Admittedly, learning history benefits students in that youths can understand the faults happened before and avoid the mistakes. However, considering that students have taken history courses for 12 years before enroll in universities, undergraduates should already have enough history knowledge. As a result, instead of benefits for university students, forcing learning history would be negative for two reasons.

Firstly, it is useless to require undergraduates learning anything. On the contrary to high school students or more younger ones, university students are more autonomic and can not be controlled. If the school require them to take some courses they do not interested, they may just skip the class or sleep on the classrooms. Take my classmate Judy for example, she is a clever girl who likes physics to the degree that she can do her experiments for two days without sleep. However, if university require her to take the history course, then the only thing she will do is sleep on the class and learn nothing. Thus, such enforcement to take history courses is not anything but meaningless to undergraduates.

Secondly, obliging students to learn history no matter what their field of study is could be detrimental to their own major. Some students who major in burdensome department, such as architecture, may already have no enough time to finish their own homework and papers. If they are compelled to take history course, they would not balance their learning, and mess everything up. In that case, obligation to learn history is not only meaningless but also pernicious. My cousin is a good instance to illustrate this idea. She has a rigid father who anticipated her to learn everything, especially history, because he believes that history helped his daughter become erudite. However, my cousin majored on medicine of which load is terrible. She could not stand for the burden, and eventually dropped out school.

In sum, with the reasons I mentioned above, despite the benefit of learning history, forcing undergraduates to learn history is meaningless and even harmful, I believe that university students can take but should not be obligated to take history courses.