Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

many people hold the opinion that students must take history classes even if it is not related to their majors of study. In the following essay, I will discuss the reasons why I disagree with this idea.

First, taking extra courses that don't align with one's field can put an unnecessary financial strain on them. many students who attend university must work to pay their tuition fees. my friend's experience could be a good example here. he had to do part-time jobs to pay for medical school costs. Suddenly, his university announced that due to a new policy, all students would have to attend courses from the art department during that semester. From then on, he started working overtime to meet his expenses. it's been a few years, and he doesn't remember anythings from those art classes, but he can't forget the financial burden he went through during those months. therefore, I disagree with such obligations as it might be extra pressure on some of the pupils financially.

Second, as the students will only be able to take a certain number of classes every semester in view of the time constraints, attending irrelevant classes can result in fewer number of classes from their major. For instance, taking a few classes on religious subjects is mandatory at my university. if only there was no such policy, I could spend my time on classes that are closer to my own field of interest. Hence, I don't agree with any ideas that promote such policy.

In conclusion, it is very common to hear students complain about how they don’t have enough time or money for their own classes, let alone for classes from other departments. therefore, I disagree with the idea that students from all majors must take history classes which isn't directly connected to the major they have signed up for.