Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses, no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History, an extremely interesting and mysterious subject, is often considered a class that all university students should take. But in my own opinion, I would suggest that universities should allow students to choose whether to take history classes or not and also give students some advice instead of forcing them to choose.

The first thing to note is that if a student's main field of study is geology or literature, it is absolutely beneficial to study history and spend some time in a history class. If students do not choose to study history, it is difficult for them to understand some professional terminology in geology or literature, and it is also difficult for them to understand when or why this terminology was invented and used. Such as some historical background in satirical literature. Due to this situation, students who choose geology and literature will soon discover that if they do not choose history class, it is difficult for them to keep up with school work. It will end up with these students studying history themselves instead of a doctrinaire requirement.

Secondly, it is also fine if a student does not choose history. Such as students interested in computer science or chemistry. It is helpful for them to study some historical events that are related to their main course. However, the university should not force them to take history classes. For example, on a final exam in chemistry, the question will be "How to identify Helium?" rather than "Who was the leader of the Brazilian revolution?" And also, if a student is studying computer science, the first thing they will be asked when they come to Google or Facebook is, "What program and application did you code?" or "What is the function of 'printing' in Python?" but it will certainly not be, "When was the first American mideast railway built?" Therefore, for these kinds of students, if they refuse to study history class, it is reliable and reasonable. The university cannot interfere with the personal preferences of these students who are interested in science.

In conclusion, universities can encourage students to take history classes, especially those interested in literature and geology. But for those students who are interested in subjects that are not directly related to history, the university has no right to force them.