Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Since compared with the advertisements in the past, advertisements nowadays are less honest, so they are not useful for customers as they make a decision to buy.

Today, advertising has become one of the key means of promoting a product in all businesses. It's not surprising that some people believe that as business competition heats up, companies will do whatever they can to attract customers, and that one of the most important means of promoting their products -- advertising -- is no longer as honest as it once was. However, in my opinion, not only has advertising not become dishonest, but it has also become more honest than before.

First of all, it is true that there is harsh and drastic competition in the market today, but it is not very likely that a company will give up its product quality and everything else and go for such a scheme as falsification because of "competition." There are better ways and methods for companies to improve their competitiveness than using dishonest advertising, such as making their products more appealing to consumers. In fact, the use of dishonest advertising actually makes the company less competitive. Dishonest advertising means that a company's products are not actually of the quality advertised, which leads consumers to stop choosing the company's products in favor of companies that use truthful and honest advertising. I am confident that no company would go to the trouble of creating a deceptive advertisement and risk losing all of its customers.

Secondly, the scrutiny and revaluation of advertising have become more stringent. Today, consumers can shop online, and numerous software programs offer this service, such as Amazon or eBay. In this software, there is a review section for a specific product. Users can assess whether the product is good or bad, beneficial or flawed, in the review section. So if a company exaggerates its product with ads that create a sense of deception among consumers, then no one will buy it. Let's say I want to buy headphones. Many different companies have run eye-catching ads touting the benefits of their headphones. In the past, before the advent of these review sections and online shopping methods, I might have been misled by a dishonest headphone ad. But now, if I do not know which headphones are best for me, I can go to the review section and check out the reviews. If I hear that the headphones are not as good as advertised, I will not buy them. Not only do consumers supervise ads, but many departments in government are now managing them as well. For example, the data on the advertisement must have a source or citation, and the content on the advertisement cannot contain overly promotional sentences and words. Therefore, companies must use honest advertising and promotions to gain additional profits and attract more consumers. Otherwise, the company will end up losing customers or being sanctioned by the government and the law.

In conclusion, today's companies are not inclined to choose dishonest advertising, which is a highly risky means of propagandizing, in order to ensure their competitiveness, ensure that their customers will not lose, and ensure their own interests. On the contrary, because of stricter censorship, companies' advertisements are becoming more honest, authentic, and believable.