Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than the positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is debatable that whether movies and television have more negative effects than the positive effects on young people's behaviors for this issue can be approach from different angles. However, after deeply deliberating, I contend that movies and television are conducive to the way young people behave.

Admittedly, movies and television may distract youths from their school works. Many children may forget their homework and study because of the TV shows and movies. However, it is just this distraction benefit youths to broaden their horizons. To be more specific, through those videos, they can learn more things which are important, meaningful, but the schools doesn't teach.

Moreover, movies and dramas increase the empathy of people, especially the youths. Everyone only can lead his/her own life, however, youths who comparatively lack of experience than the elder, can watch the world through the eyes of characters in dramas, then understand others life, situation and feeling. My friend, Joe, is a good example to illustrate this idea. He is a doctor without borders in Ethiopia and extreme movie-lover. Actually, it is the movies about starvation, virus and death which he watched when he was an intern in hospital prompted him to become doctor who work on the poor country. He wants to devote himself to someone struggle to survive just because they are born in unfortunate environments.

Lastly, youths have more creativity in that the movies and television shows flourish. These videos enable humans to experience not only others’ lives, but also places that we haven't been, which stimulate youths' imagination. For instance, my cousin is an eighteen-years-old girl who haven't gone abroad. Nevertheless, she wrote an app for people to exchange used goods and reduce consumption because of the inspiration by a UK documentary whose background is the climate change and animal extinction exacerbated by our consumption.

In sum, with the reasons I mention above, despite movies and television distract youths from school works, they broaden youths’ horizons, increase empathy, stimulate creativity, I believe that their positive effects are much more than the negative ones on young people's behaviors.