Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people contend that a student should study art and literature first, while others argue that the primary task of students is studying math and science. In my opinion, both arguments are right and wrong, because art, literature, and math, science are both crucial to youths. Students should balance their efforts in these different fields.

On one hand, studying art and literature help human beings to become genteel and interesting. These characters make people more amiable and are more capable to take advantage of more opportunities in the modern world. Take my cousin for example. She is a humorous and erudite girl in that she reads a lot of books and attends to many museum events. Because of her horizons broaden by literature and arts, she can always give interesting but intellectual remarks without giving pressure to others, and form friendships with all her classmates. Thus, when she graduated, her connections helped her find a fantastic job in advertising.

On the other hand, math and science benefit youths, for they bring them vital logic to analyze and solve problem. With the ability people are more likely to succeed. The experience of my cousin is a good instance to illustrate this notion. Even though she doesn’t need to apply knowledge of math and science directly in her advertising job, her eminent logic trained by science classes in university helps her to finish all her tasks on schedule. She also uses the logic to experiment on subjects of advertising and always arrives at great achievements which underlie her swift promotions.

Accordingly, to become an all-around person who truly succeeds, it is important for students to study all of the subjects included in the statement: art, literature,math, and science. To be more specific, without the cultivation of art and literature , people who excel at science and math may not have amiable temperament to socialize with others and then seize compatible chances; without the training of math and science , youths good at art and literature may not have adequate abilities to analyze some problems. Therefore , excelling at all these fields ensures students to become more competitive and have more chances to be seen and be recognized .

To sum up, I believe that in order to acquire a position in the society , students should study disparate fields of knowledge to improve different abilities to be more competitive in every aspect of their lives.