Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Although arts and literature is as important as mathematics and science, both are equally important for a holistic development of a coursework, ensuring education to a an enriching and fulfilling vocation for individuals. I would strongly diasgree with the view presented in the question and suggest adoption of both the domains to facilitate diversification of education. I shall take help of three strong reasons to bolster my claim.

Firstly, maths and science are highly helpful for leading a smooth day-to-day life. Essentially, most of the things that surrond us comprise of scientific explanations and mathematical computations. For example, the daily chores we perform ranging from shopping to walking would have scientific reasonings to it. Without strong mathematical skills, understanding payment of bills, making workplans or figuring out a monthly budget would become a nightmare for all. Similarly, without scientific understanding, it would be extremely difficult to figure out basics of mundane life - how much should plants be watered, how would cars be fueled and how would eggs be prepared?

Secondly, scientific advances lead the road to improvements in lives of mankind. Starting from discovery of electric bulbs to accomplishing successful space mission, science and mathematics have been the stepping stone to all these achievements. For example, in the absence of science, would might have never known the process of pumping up groundwater, or using biofuels for combusting processes. Had mankind been only restrcited to art and literature, we might have been stuck in an eigteenth century European era, with less than forty years of life expectancy, even today.

Last but not the least, math and science are essential important for the development of quantitative skills of students. No doubt that arts and literature help in building cultural aspects of life, but rational thinking and a logical frame of mind are equally essential for an allround growth. For example, a child would never learn to understand the mechanism of adding up of his belongings or learn to understand the rationale behing riding a bicycle, if he is restricted to just art and culture.