In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Cars have been a revolution in facilitating human communication and transformation. A prediction on fewer cars being in use twenty years hence is a tough take, considering the fact that such an outcomes depends on several factors. Yet, according to me, this hypothesis is flawed, given the current trends pertaining to human commuting.

To start with, it is essential to emphasize on the fact that although the quantity of cars may not decrease, the quality and type of cars are sure to undergo a massive change. As the world is becoming more and more conscious about the environment, cars dependent on fossil fuels are likely to be replaced by electric cars. As electric shall become more convenient to use, these cars will be taken up by more individuals. Thus, contrary to the mentioned hypothesis, more cars may be in use than it is at present.

Moving on, the evolution of artificial intelligence and automation must also be taken into consideration. With car companies like Tesla coming into the picture, the incidence of road accidents, traffic jams and other road related hassel shall decrease manifold times. Resultantly, it would become more convenient for people to afford and drive cars than it is today.

Lastly, as more and more people continue to accumulate wealth, at least the top strata of income category being flocked by millionaires and billionaires, with rise in inequality, the absolute number of cars shall shoot up in no time. Considering lower prices of electric cars, less maintenance cost and negligible need of a driver's license - thanks to automatic cars, owning and driving cars shall become easier, convenient and enjoyable for people across all age groups.

To conclude, although it is too early to make a concrete claim, I would prefer to believe that, on the premise of the reasons stated, the number of cars in the upcoming years is likely to rise.