As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is often said that books are a man's best friend. Well, although implied, it can be easily be deciphered that a book is a storehouse of information or knowledge. With this view in mind, can it really be said that as we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious? I strongly diasgree with this afforementioned idea on the pretext of three main reasons which shall be elucidated below. This short communication will try to analyze the scenario on an unbiased basis and attempt to justify the reason of disapproval of this logic.

A human brain is designed as a supercomputer-it has the capability of accumulating huge chunks of information, assimilating and processing them. Humans have evolved for thousands of years to be able to produce such genius results, as they do today. With growing time, they are able to put in more effort and work harder than they used to do even a hundred years back. In today's time, with each and every field becoming so intensely competitive, humans have trained themselves to stretch their limits. Today, a lot of courses or examinations require the candidates to gain information in varied fields. Let us take an example of a very popular Indian Service Examination- the highly coveted 'UPSC'. Candidates who successfully clear this examination go on to serve the country through policy designing and implementation. Aspirants of the UPSC examination are rigorously tested on a plethora of subjects like basic mathematics,history, geography, sciences, current affairs and so on. Although treacherously hard as it may seem, it is purposefully done as people in charge of serving the biggest democracy needs to be abrest on a huge variety of subjects.

In modern world, where almost every fields of study are evolving into an interdisciplinary one, experts or even students such fields are expected to be well equippd with a lot of ideas. The main premise of succeeding in crossdisciplinary studies lie in massive accumulation of knowledge-followed by precise implementation of ideas. Let us take an example of a discipline, say for example, biostatistics, which is interdisciplinary in nature, and has grown over a past couple of decades. Biostatistics is basically the artful use of data science in fields of public health- in order to understand the trens of diseases and come up with effective policy prescriptions. A modern day biostatistician is expected to be well versed with both human physiology as well as mathematical modellings and statistical processes. In contrast to what we assumed specialization in a certain field to be, such cross-disciplinary experts are always on a pursuit of gaining more knowledge to copulate the concepts in a jargonised manner. Thus, had acquiring more knowledge let to cloudy thinking process, fields as these would have never come into existence.

Even if we take into account of a single subject, a concept is best understood when studied from a range of sources, and not one. For example let us take the example of a candidate who is studying human biology for the first time in his life. At first, he is bound to be petrified at the jargons he would come across. It is only after he takes up a couple different of study materials, goes through half a dozen related videos on youtube, will he be able to grasp the concept thoroughly. In contrast to the argument presented, it is actually of utmost importance for an academician to zip trhough different articles, refer to a pandora of related study materials and get accustomed to a topic. Only then will he be able to understand the crux of an issue.

The proponents of this logic may argue that in this generation where so much material is available to us- a thousand results are generated through one search of a topic-people are often likely to get startled by the humongous range of options to choose from. Yes, this might result in them getting confused at first. But is it not through trail and error that we learn? The more one indulges into a topic, the more he learns. It is however important to pick up the right references for the study wisely. Once that is sorted, more knowledge shall certainly turn into a boon.