As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We’ve all heard inane statements such as ‘ignorance is bliss’ and ‘less is more.’ Our reaction to such truisms is often times that of contempt. After all knowledge is power, the more you know, the more equipped you are to deal with a myriad of obstacles life throws at you. However, there are some occurrences that cannot be explained, especially when you gain more information and delve deeper into their potential causes or consequences. It is precisely for this reason that I am wont to agree with the premise that acquisition of a greater volume of information occasionally results in matters becoming unintelligible.

To be fair, there are several areas in which an abundance of information leads to an increased understanding. For example, a chef who has studied the multiplicity of cuisines available across the world and understands the science behind cooking, the importance of spices and significance associated with using local produce is likely to be better at his job than his counterpart whose knowledge is incomplete and restricted to the basics. Similarly, with a rise in the amount of information available about most diseases known to man, causation factors, medicine is better able to both treat and prevent their occurrences. Take for example the deadly Covid virus. Initially the world at large was at a loss when it came to dealing with it and treating it. With greater information and research undertaken by virologists, we are more capable in both fighting and emerging victorious against the virus than we were in the start of 2020.

However, there exist a great number of things that become more arcane, the more you study them, the more knowledge you have in your arsenal. As psychologists delve deeper into the minds of their subjects, to determine what causes certain types of human behaviour, to predict their responses to certain situations based on years of research, they often encounter certain questions they cannot answer. Human behaviour is perhaps the most perplexing subject matter. The human brain works in mysterious ways that cannot always be accounted for. This also explains why most psychologists and counsellors do not view our actions as good or bad, something that lay persons tend to often times do. This comes from their belief that nobody knows it all and there exists certain behaviour that escapes the bounds of diligent research and abundant knowledge as well.

Ideally, in this age where there is no scarcity of information and thus several avenues to gain varying types of knowledge, we as a population would have a better understanding of a great many things. We should be able to develop quick fixes for difficult and age old problems that plague us. Instead we are left pondering the same things the previous generation grappled with. How best to solve global poverty? What are the solutions for tackling growing income inequalities? Since that is clearly not the case, it is safe to assume that more information can lead to greater complexities and challenges.