Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While most of us are aware of the age old adage ‘justice is blind’, what we often forget is that the proverb is incomplete. The entirety of it is ‘justice is blind, until a judge gives it eyes.’ This proverb clearly implies that the rendering of judicial decisions is oftentimes a culmination of existing statutes and subjective beliefs. If the purveyors of justice possess the flexibility to exercise subjectivity based on context, shouldn’t the same be taken into account while framing of these laws. Consequently I am wont to mostly agree with the proposition that the law ought to be flexible, as rules cannot exist in a vacuum bereft of circumstantial knowledge. Before I elucidate my two main reasons in support of this proposition, I will first carve out certain exceptions to the aforementioned statement.

There exist certain laws that govern crimes of a universal nature and consequently penalise them in similar manner. It means that across a multitude of domestic jurisdictions the penalties prescribed for these acts are commensurate. This includes crimes of a heinous nature such as culpable homicide, murder, gangrape, child sex abuse etc. Perpetrators are usually sentenced to either life imprisonment or imprisonment extending a period of 7-10 years. The rationale is that in case of crimes that are an affront to all societies across the world, there cannot be much scope for flexibility with regards to punishment. When man violates the fundamentals of humanity, punishment must be harsh and uniform, regardless of time or place.

However most other acts that constitute as being law abiding or rule breaking cannot be examined in the absence of context. If a law is to be framed in a stringent and un-amendable manner, it can neither aid in providing justice or serving as a deterrent. The history and current circumstances prevailing in a particular region ought to be considered while formulating legislation. Take for instance, in a country like India that has a sinister history of aborting female foetuses, pre-natal determination of the sex of an unborn child is strictly prohibited and subjected to stringent penalties and jail time. Whereas in most western countries around the world such as United States of America, France and Germany there are no prohibitions governing determination of gender of a foetus. The simple reason is that these countries have a different social fabric, one where a girl child is not considered burdensome or less than a boy. Thus, it becomes increasingly clear that laws are governed by the conditions that exist in a particular society. They seek to remedy different evils in different places.

Another pertinent point is that the law only serves its purpose if it is able to keep pace with a rapidly evolving society. laws governing a particular region must reflect its realities as they exist currently. In the absence of this evolution, there exist possibilities of misuse of archaic statutes to quell dissent in democratic nations. In order to contextualise the aforementioned statement one needs to look no further than the Indian Penal code that continues to criminalise dissent, unfavourable opinions against the government under the guise of sedition. A law that belongs to the colonial era, which has ironically been repealed in its coloniser country continues to exist in India. It is weaponised and frequently misused to silence voices of disagreement. As is clear from the above example, laws need to be flexible to meet the demands of time and progress.

In conclusion, it must be said that a fine balance needs to be struck when it comes to both formulation and application of laws. There is no one size fits all solution in this case. While certain stringent principles that ensure absolute welfare of society must remain steadfast, it is also important to ensure that law reflects the society as it exists today, replete with all its advances and complications.