The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memo drafted by the director of student housing at Buckingham College, one of the recommendations made includes the construction of multiple new dormitories. The director has come to this conclusion on the basis of growth in Buckingham’s enrolment, rise in average rent prices in the town and that the promise of new dormitories will further improve enrolment at Buckingham. However before this recommendation can be implemented certain questions must be answered and evidence must be tendered to determine its viability.

Firstly, will the current trends indicating growth in enrolment at Buckingham College prove to be spot on 50 years from now? What if the trends were to reverse in the next decade, or the decade after, resulting in dearth of enrolment? Furthermore, only if the enrolment at Buckingham College doubles, will the existing dormitories become inadequate. In such circumstances is it prudent to undertake the time consuming and expensive endeavour of building several new dormitories? In such a situation, certain particulars are required to be known. This may include data on the percentage increase or decrease in enrolment at Buckingham College for the past half century, in order to get a general idea of what can be expected in the future. Another solution could be to observe the accommodation infrastructure of colleges with a similar rate of enrolment as Buckingham College, to make a more educated decision. In the absence of such evidence, the author’s argument that dormitory space will become insufficient in the future is seriously weakened.

Secondly, does a steady increase in average rent necessarily mean that students prefer to live on campus accommodation as compared to off campus recommendation? As is clear from the memo, the rise in average rent for an apartment has risen in the recent years, it is not a sudden phenomenon. If despite this rise, the number of students that can only afford to live in dormitories has not increased drastically, what is to say that there will be a burgeoning increase in students who are unable to afford off campus housing now. Furthermore, there are several factors apart from rent prices, such as lack of space constraints, freedom, choice of flatmates that are considered by students before deciding on whether to live on or off campus. Additionally, if students do not want to sacrifice the freedom that comes with living off campus, they may even move to areas with lower average rents as compared to their current accommodations, instead of living in college dormitories. Unless and until, a comprehensive study analysing the relationship between increasing rent prices and preference towards living in dormitories is conducted, the director’s premise remains flawed, sans a solid foundation.

Lastly, can new dormitories be the primary criterion looked at by students, while deciding to enrol into a particular university? What about factors such as curriculum, faculty, geographical location, placements etcetera? A survey of incoming college students must be conducted to determine how high ‘new dormitories’ lie amongst other factors that are/were considered by these students while making their choice. If new dormitories are not as much of a priority as any of the above listed factors, the director’s argument is rendered significantly fragile.

Thus, the argument in favour of constructing new dormitories at Buckingham college, as it stands is flawed in the absence of the aforementioned evidence. Only if the author is able to answer the questions raised in the previous paragraphs and provide more evidence, will it be viable to analyse his recommendation.